2016 Ward's 10 Best Engines announced

The annual awards season has begun and kicking things off as usual is Ward’s list of 10 best engines for 2016. In its 22nd year now, this list is unique in the sense that it recognizes automaker’s efforts in developing advanced engines and electric propulsion systems instead of the automobiles themselves. 

Candidates for the award include the 10 Best Engines of 2015 as well as all-new or significantly improved engines that debuted in the USA over the course of the year. To be eligible for the award, the vehicles in which these engines are fitted should have a base price no higher than $ 61,000. A total of 31 engines contested this year which the editors at WardsAuto evaluated based on horsepower, torque, fuel economy, technology applied and NVH characteristics. 

For the first time in the history of the awards, three electrified powertrain made it to the list. Crucially, each of them represent a different technology within electrified engines. One is a gasoline-electric hybrid, one is a plug-in hybrid and the other an extended-range electric engine. Joining them are three turbocharged engines, two naturally aspirated V6 units, a V8 mill and an inline four with turbocharging and supercharging. 

General Motors is the only automaker with two entries in the list while BMW, Volvo, Toyota, Hyundai, Ford, Fiat Chrysler, Nissan and Subaru join GM to share the honors with one entry each. Due to the ongoing emissions scandal related to its diesel engines, the Volkswagen Group brands were not considered for the honors this year.

The award-winning engines and the automobiles they are applied in are listed below in no particular order:

* 3.0L Turbocharged DOHC I6 (BMW 340i)
* 3.6L DOHC V6 (Chevrolet Camaro/Cadillac ATS)
* 1.5L DOHC 4-cyl./120-kW Drive Motor (Chevrolet Volt EREV)
* 5.2L DOHC V8 (Ford Shelby GT350 Mustang)
* 2.0L DOHC 4-cyl./50-kW Drive Motor (Hyundai Sonata PHEV)
* 3.5L DOHC V6 (Nissan Maxima)
* 3.0L Turbodiesel DOHC V6 (Ram 1500 EcoDiesel)
* 2.0L Turbocharged DOHC 4-cyl. Boxer (Subaru WRX)
* 1.8L DOHC 4-cyl./53-kW Drive Motor (Toyota Prius HEV)
* 2.0L Turbo/Supercharged DOHC 4-cyl. (Volvo XC90)

The winners will be honored at a ceremony in Detroit to be held 13th Jan, 2016 as part of the North American International Auto Show.

No comments:

Post a Comment