Indian Car of the Year (ICOTY) 2017 & Indian Motorcycle of the Year (IMOTY) 2017 announced

As we gear up to say good-bye to 2016 and start off the new year with a bang, it is time to look back at all the new cars and motorcycles launched in India this year and zero in on the best of the lot. That’s precisely what the jury members of the Indian Car of the Year (ICOTY) and Indian Motorcycle of the Year (IMOTY) titles gathered for, like they do every year. Here is their verdict for 2017. 

Indian Car of the Year (ICOTY) 2017

Modeled on the lines of popular international titles like the North American Car, Truck and Utility of the Year, European Car of the Year and Japan Car of the Year, the Indian Car of the Year (ICOTY) title is unique in its approach. Instead of a single media outlet or publication handing out the title, the ICOTY brings together a panel of journalists and experts from an assortment of media outlets, automotive magazines and websites.

This year’s jury included Yogendra Pratap (Auto Today), Rahul Ghosh (Auto Today), Dhruv Behl and Ishan Raghava (Auto X), Aspi Bhathena and Jim Gorde (Car India), Sirish Chandran and Aninda Sardar (Evo India), Kartik Ware (Motoring World), Bertrand D’souza and Bob Rupani (Overdrive), Girish Karkera and Sriram Narayanan (Top Gear) , Muralidhar Swaminathan (The Hindu Business Line) and Pablo Chaterji (Man’s World).

From the 19 new cars launched in 2016, 13 qualified for the jury round that was held earlier this month at Lonavala. After careful evaluation on parameters including price, fuel efficiency, styling, safety, performance and technical innovation, the number of contenders were brought down to six. The ones that made the cut were Ford Endeavour, Hyundai Elantra, Hyundai Tucson, Maruti-Suzuki Vitara Brezza, Toyota Innova Crysta and Skoda Superb. 

In what was supposedly a tough contest, it was the Maruti-Suzuki that came out on top. Despite not being a global Suzuki model, the Vitara Brezza, designed and developed in India with inputs from Suzuki’s engineers in Japan, is a terrific all-rounder that has taken the market by storm. Not for nothing then is the Vitara Brezza India's largest selling Utility Vehicle! Hyundai, the winner of the last three ICOTY titles, saw its Tucson finishing runner up with the Toyota Innova Crysta completing the top three. 

ICOTY 2017 Winner - Maruti-Suzuki Vitara Brezza

2017 ICOTY Results:

  1. Maruti-Suzuki Vitara Brezza
  2. Hyundai Tucson
  3. Toyota Innova Crysta

Previous ICOTY Winners:

  • 2016 - Hyundai Creta
  • 2015 - Hyundai i20
  • 2014 - Hyundai Grand i10
  • 2013 - Renault Duster
  • 2012 - Maruti-Suzuki Swift

Indian Motorcycle of the Year (IMOTY) 2017

The Indian Motorcycle of the Year (IMOTY) title is similar in methodology and approach to the ICOTY except that it honors the best on two wheels. The jury for 2017 included Rahul Ghosh (Auto Today), Jared Solomon and Arup Das (AutoX), Sirish Chandran and Aninda Sardar (Evo India), Pablo Chaterji (Man’s World), Kartik Ware and Ruman Devmane (Motoring World), Shubhabrata Marmar and Rishaad Mody (Overdrive), Debabrata Sarkar and Christopher Chaves (Top Gear) and Aspi Bhathena and Sarmad Kadiri (Bike India).

2016 saw more than 30 new launches out of which just 12 made it to the jury round that was held in conjunction with the ICOTY earlier this month. After assessments based on their styling, value for money, practicality, suitability for Indian riding conditions and a host of other factors, the top five were chosen. The shortlist included Kawasaki Versys 650 ABS, TVS Apache RTR 200, Royal Enfield Himalayan, Honda Navi and TVS Victor.

In the end, it was the Apache RTR 200 that finished on top, winning the coveted title for 2017. Though TVS was late to the market, there is no doubt that the Apache RTR 200 is a stupendous effort by the Indian motorcycle manufacturer. That it can hold it's own against similar-priced offerings from Honda, Yamaha and Suzuki is a testimony to the Apache RTR 200's abilities. Kawasaki Versys 650 came runner up with the Royal Enfield Himalayan rounding off the top three.   

IMOTY Winner 2017 - TVS Apache RTR 200 4V

2017 IMOTY Results:

  1. TVS Apache RTR 200
  2. Kawasaki Versys 650
  3. Royal Enfield Himalayan

Previous IMOTY Winners:

  • 2016 - Yamaha YZF R3
  • 2015 - Harley-Davidson Street 750
  • 2014 - Royal Enfield Continental GT
  • 2013 - KTM Duke 200
  • 2012 - Honda CBR 250R

Well done, Maruti-Suzuki and TVS. Keep up the momentum and roll out more such models in the coming years!


  1. Replies
    1. Which of the two vehicles are you referring to? Is it the Vitara Brezza or the Apache RTR 200?